Lack of time

As of late, I have had a serious lack of time to keep up with what is going on in the world. This is unusual for me as I have spent the last 2 years almost exclusively following and paying detailed attention to the world of  Politics and  Social issues.
I will try and dedicate at least a small portion daily to this pursuit as it has been the basic driving force for me for the last few years. However, I have some personal family issues going on that  I can not and do not want to ignore.
It is as always with everything in life a learning experience.
So what am I learning … you might ask?
I am learning that is never ever too early to start planning for your future retirement.
I am absolutely no expert on this topic as I have been a business owner and self-employed for most of my adult life. I have paid into the system but I have not done other things that one with a  full time on the books working for someone else might have done. As a matter of fact, I am not even truly aware of what those things might be, perhaps pensions,  401k , Money market and savings accounts.  I know little of these things. SO little that I am not even sure how one would go about getting any of them, or how much money revenue they would produce after 20-40 yrs paying in to them.
My grand parents had a money market account  they had a base amount in this account and their “guy”  as they called him would manage  their investments. This proved to be a later source of income  when  they became older providing a dividends and interest check on a monthly basis keeping my Grands  in  house and home, Pay their bills and such.
I  myself at 45  have Some money in Social Security, from the work  I have done over the years for others but little to nothing form the work I did while I owned my business.
I did not know  anything about how to pay in to the SS system as a self employed individual. I was raised in a family business and  this was not something we talked about or discussed  I was  totally unprepared  to  handle this kind of  financial situation when  I opened my own business in my early twenties.Now in my mid 40’s  I have little to  no idea on how I will retire.
My business  of which I depended on daily  for many years  has done nothing once or ever for  actual savings for the future.
I guess  what I am saying most of all is  that  I have a ton of work to do to remedy this issues and  since  I do not have any children  I can not  depend on  anyone  but myself to take care of me when I am no longer able bodied  and can work  for myself.
So this will have to become as important to me as my Truther News has been to me  in the last few years  at least  for  some time,  time  enough to  learn all my options and come up with a game plan.
Marrying rich, something my mother suggested to me many years ago  Just isn’t an option  LOL…

Leave a Reply

